A lot of people go to college for seven years..

by bmccoy

Listen:

Today I stepped in a college classroom as a student for the first time. Here are some reflections on my day. 

-College kids are not early to things. I was told I needed to be somewhere at 2pm. I got there at 1:40 and did not see a soul until 1:59.

-Somewhere along the way, I have lost the energy to run up to another man and push him as hard as I can into a wall while he pushes back with all of his strength. This is popular with the young men in college these days. 

-Apparently it got cool to wear headphones?! Big headphones?! Inside?! I can’t think of a song on my iPod that is so great that I simply must hear it even though i’m in a room full of people. 

-28 and 60 are the same age if you’re looking at life through the lenses of an 18 year old. Receeding hairlines do not help make a distinction. 

-Ce Ce’s Pizza is still considered a desirable restaurant to college kids. (I ate dinner there, and feel like butt now.)

-“Your Mom” jokes will always be funny. 

-I find myself able to stand still and listen to instruction, even though I’m holding drumsticks. Its got to be my age. No percussionist alive and under the age of 25 is capable of keeping his or her hands still while holding drumsticks. I noticed today that i’ve achieved a milestone. I was proud. 

-I drove 40 minutes to school and teared up listening to Garrison Keilor.  I’m gonna go out on a limb and say that I was the only person in the class with that experience on the way to school. 

-Beer is a funny punchline when you are 20.  I asked if anyone needed a refill at CeCe’s and one of the kids handed me a cup and said “Heineken.” He got a big laugh from the table. Here’s what I now know about this kid. 1) He’s never had Heineken because no one actually likes that beer. 2) He has probably been drunk twice. Both times on some sort of flavored vodka, i’m guessing…. Peach? Both times of inebriation, he lied about how much he drank when he told his friends the next day. He told them he had 1/2 a bottle. He likely had 3 or 4 sips. 

..but i digress..

-Old college professors are the smartest people alive. I’m glad I didn’t go to school when I was 18, I would have missed out on the wisdom. 

-College kids have a tremendous amount of respect for tattoos. And rock and roll. As a man who has a fair amount of both in his life, I was welcomed in to the tribe almost immediately. I got a lot of “is it awesome being on the road with a band…” type questions. I didn’t have the heart to tell them the truth, so I just responded “fuck yea.” 

-College kids have a tremendous amount of respect for marriage. I told them I wasn’t staying on campus for drumline camp because I wanted to see my wife at night and a thought provoked silence filled the room. Finally one of the older kids (23, 24?) says. “Dude, thats awesome. That’s what I would do.” 

Yep. I’m a college student. So here’s to four years. I got through day 1 and that seems to be an important day. Now to learn the ways of the college student.  Should be an interesting ride… 

 

Cheers! 

